Guides › Financial Advisor Fees
Updated September 28, 2026. Quick answer: Stash is registered with the SEC as an investment adviser (CRD #226550, confirmed ACTIVE this session via SEC IAPD). Per its own current fee brochure, a $500,000 account would run $144 a year under its published fee schedule. Already a client and thinking about leaving? Budget $75 for a standard account, or $125 to close an IRA, per Apex Clearing’s own pricing term sheet. This review covers what its fee brochure and current SEC registration confirm today; this firm also has a fiduciary-status page and minimum-investment page on this site.
Stash at a glance
| Fact | What Stash’s own pages say |
|---|---|
| Legal entity | Stash Investments LLC |
| Registration | Stash Investments LLC is registered with the SEC as an investment adviser (CRD #226550, confirmed ACTIVE this session via SEC IAPD). |
| Fee on a $500,000 account | $144 a year, per its own current brochure |
| Minimum to open an account | See the minimum-investment page for Stash |
| Cost to leave (exit fee) | $75 for a standard account, or $125 to close an IRA, per Apex Clearing’s own pricing term sheet |
What Stash’s own fee schedule charges
Stash is a wrap-fee robo-advisory program billed primarily as a flat monthly subscription, not a percentage of assets, so the annual dollar figure here is identical at every balance shown. Clients whose Discretionary Managed Accounts or Managed Retirement Portfolios reach $1,000 or more also incur an additional AUM Fee; this Form ADV Part 2A Brochure describes when that fee applies but does not state its percentage, so it is not added to dollar_at here per PRIMARY-SOURCE-OR-OMIT.
“For clients who enroll in the Stash Subscription, the Stash Fee consists of (i) a fixed subscription fee of $12 per month, and (ii) if applicable, the AUM Fee on Discretionary Managed Accounts as described below. The AUM Fee applies to taxable Discretionary Managed Accounts when assets equal or exceed $1,000 (calculated as described in this Brochure) and applies to Managed Retirement Portfolios as described in the Wrap Fee Program Brochure-Stash Subscription.”
Stash’s headline fee is a flat $12/month ($144/year) subscription that does not scale with assets, so dollar_at is identical at every balance shown: $12 x 12 = $144. Because the dollar cost does not scale with assets, the effective percentage rate falls sharply as balance rises. This is the expected, real consequence of a flat-fee model, not an error. An additional AUM Fee applies once Discretionary Managed Account or Managed Retirement Portfolio assets reach $1,000, but this Firm Brochure does not state its percentage, so it is disclosed qualitatively rather than added to the dollar figure.
| Account balance | Annual fee |
|---|---|
| $250,000 | $144 |
| $500,000 | $144 |
| $1,000,000 | $144 |
| $2,000,000 | $144 |
See the full breakdown, including how the figure is calculated, on Stash’s own fee page.
Registration
Stash Investments LLC is registered with the SEC as an investment adviser (CRD #226550, confirmed ACTIVE this session via SEC IAPD).
This is a registration confirmation only, not a fiduciary-standard verdict (a registered investment adviser can still be a dual registrant with a broker-dealer, which changes which standard applies in each capacity). For the fiduciary-standard question itself, see the fiduciary-status page for Stash.
What it costs to leave
Stash Investments LLC’s Form ADV Part 2A names no dollar exit fee of its own; it states clients may be charged incidental fees by Stash’s clearing firm and qualified custodian, Apex Clearing, for services such as an outgoing ACAT, and points to Stash’s own Advisory Agreement for the exact figure rather than stating one in the brochure itself. Apex Fintech Brokerage Services’ own correspondent-facing pricing term sheet states $75 for a standard account transfer and $125 to close an IRA; Stash’s own help-center confirmation page is currently a dead link (disclosed).
Full mechanics and sources: how to leave Stash.
Other advisor-firm reviews
Read our review and this one too.
What we would compare it against
Before you decide, run the numbers against another firm using the financial advisor fee comparison, or price the dollar cost of any percentage fee over time with the Financial Advisor Fee Calculator and the Fee Drag Calculator.
Compare your next step
Just comparing fees? Keep reading the fee guide.Optional next step
Explore an adviser match
Compare the services and the full fee before deciding whether to hire anyone.
- No fee to request a match
- No obligation to hire
Expect questions about your situation, your name, email and phone, and phone verification by text. A match is not guaranteed.
The form is run by Kapitalwise, our advisor-matching partner. Kapitalwise sends your details to advisers who pay for the introduction, so expect calls and texts. Clear Money Guide is paid when you submit the form, whether or not you ever hire anyone. This is free to you and there is no obligation to hire anyone.
Opens here. Nothing loads and nothing reaches Kapitalwise until you press the button.
How our partner relationships workCompare an adviser match before you decide
Ask about the full fee, what it covers and how the adviser is paid. A match is an introduction, not a recommendation from Clear Money Guide.
- Free matching service
- No obligation to hire
The matching service is run by WiserAdvisor, an independent advisor-matching company. It opens on their site, asks for your ZIP code and a few questions, and matches you with 2 to 3 vetted advisors. It is free to you. WiserAdvisor states the service is built for portfolios of $250,000 and above. By submitting, you consent to emails, phone calls and text messages from WiserAdvisor and up to three advisors, so expect to be contacted. Advisers pay for the introduction. Clear Money Guide is paid when you complete the form, whether or not you ever hire anyone. There is no obligation to hire anyone.
Continue to WiserAdvisorOpens on WiserAdvisor’s site in a new tab.
Source: WiserAdvisor’s service descriptionSources
- Stash Investments LLC Form ADV Part 2A Brochure (August 14, 2026): https://cdn.stash.com/disclosures/Form_ADV_Part_2A.pdf
- SEC IAPD firm summary (CRD #226550, checked September 28, 2026): https://adviserinfo.sec.gov/firm/summary/226550
- SEC IAPD’s own archived copy of the same Stash Investments LLC Form ADV Part 2A Brochure (August 14, 2026): https://files.adviserinfo.sec.gov/IAPD/Content/Common/crd_iapd_Brochure.aspx?BRCHR_VRSN_ID=1054983
Methodology. This page was built September 28, 2026, drawing directly on Stash’s own current fee brochure, linked above, and a fresh SEC IAPD registration check run the same day. As of September 28, 2026, this site publishes a fiduciary-status page and a minimum-investment page for Stash; where the exit-fee page already exists it is linked above and drawn from that already-sourced page. Any fact we could not independently confirm is named as an honest gap rather than presented as verified. Nothing here is personalized financial, tax, legal, or investment advice, and it is not a substitute for reading Stash’s own Form ADV Part 2A and Form CRS. We have not used Stash as a client. Stash did not pay for, review, or influence this content. See our Editorial Policy, Corrections, Affiliate Disclosure, and Disclaimer.
What does it take to open an account? See Stash’s minimum investment, straight from its own Form ADV Part 2A brochure.
Comparing firms? See all 182 advisor firm reviews in one table, with each firm’s type and its fee on a $500,000 account.