Skip to content
Independent money guidance
Clear Money Guide
Start here
Menu

Financial Advisor Matching Services Compared (2026): Standards, Minimums, Economics

Clear Money Guide

What this guide covers

A quick view of the questions and evidence developed below.

Compare the standards before you fill in any form
Advisor matching services compared: the 2026 table
How advisor matching services actually make money
What each network screens for
Which service fits which situation
The free-directory alternative

Comparison tables scroll horizontally on smaller screens.

Updated August 20, 2026. Quick answer: Every major financial advisor matching service — SmartAsset, Datalign, WiserAdvisor, Zoe Financial, Wealthramp, and Unbiased — is free to you and paid by the advisors it introduces you to. The real differences are the ones nobody puts in the headline: how many advisors end up calling you (one from Unbiased, two or three from WiserAdvisor, up to three from SmartAsset and from Datalign since its May 21, 2026 Form ADV), what standard the advisors must meet (only some require fiduciary status, and several publish no vetting standard at all), whether any minimum is stated, and exactly how the service earns its referral fee. This page compares all of that from each service’s own published pages and legal disclosures.

Fast routes: Find a financial advisor | How much an advisor costs | Questions to ask an advisor | Fee-only advisor near me | Advisor fee calculator

Compare the standards before you fill in any form

Whichever route you take, the goal is the same: an advisor whose standard of care and fee, in written annual dollars, you have verified yourself. If you want a starting point now, you can use our partner route below — and this page shows you exactly what to check about any match, from any service, before you commit.

Disclosure: the button above routes to our referral partner, WiserAdvisor. Clear Money Guide participates in the WiserAdvisor referral program and may earn compensation when a reader submits a form through our partner route, at no extra cost to you. Partner compensation does not change our calculator math, fee examples, or editorial standards. No service compared on this page paid for placement, ordering, or review outcomes. See our Affiliate Disclosure.

Or skip matching altogether and research it yourself.

Every service above matches you with an advisor. If what you actually want is to see your own portfolio clearly first, a self-serve research tool is the more direct route.

What Morningstar Investor actually is. A paid subscription research platform — not a matching service and not an advisor. It gives you a combined view of your holdings across accounts, fund and stock research, and screening tools you would otherwise pay an advisor to run for you.

We earn a commission if you subscribe through this link. Morningstar has published independent fund and stock research since 1984. This is not the only research platform available, and it does not replace professional advice on your specific tax or estate situation.

See Morningstar Investor

Opens on Morningstar’s site in a new tab. Affiliate Disclosure.

Advisor matching services compared: the 2026 table

All facts below come from each service’s own website, FAQ, or legal disclosures as reviewed on July 23, 2026, with sources linked in the sections that follow. “Not stated” means the service’s own pages do not publish that fact. Our own partner is WiserAdvisor — we are paid $75 when a reader completes its form, whether or not they ever hire anyone; every other service in this table pays us nothing.

Service Matches you get Fiduciary required? Fee-only required? Stated minimum How the service is paid
SmartAsset (SmartAdvisor) Up to 3 advisors Yes — advisers must be registered as fiduciaries No None stated; its advisor-facing materials say a typical referral averages $1.26M in investable assets Compensation from the advisers it refers
Datalign Advisory Up to 3 firms Form ADV Part 2A (May 21, 2026) requires SEC- or state-registered investment advisers; no credential bar No Not stated Referral fees from firms; when several firms fit equally, the introduction goes to the highest-bidding firm via an auction (per its own disclosures)
WiserAdvisor 2–3 advisors No — screening covers licensing, records, and experience; both fee-based and fee-only advisors are in the network No None — states it serves every income level Advisors pay a fee to be in the network
Zoe Financial Curated shortlist Yes No (not stated as a requirement) None stated — its Form CRS (June 29, 2026) says it imposes no minimum account size Recurring share of advisor revenue while you remain a client, or a fixed referral fee
Wealthramp Up to 3 advisors Yes — fiduciary oath required Not verifiable from its filings — its brochure and website are both access-blocked; we no longer state a fee-only requirement None — includes financial coaches for smaller situations Fee-sharing paid by the advisor only after you become a client; advisors do not pay to join or per lead
Unbiased (US) 1 advisor Yes, per its advice pages (SEC-registered fiduciaries) No Not stated Charges advisors a subscription/inquiry fee they can accept or reject
NerdWallet Advisors Match Up to 3 firms; network members not named in its disclosure Initial due diligence stated; no ongoing monitoring No Not stated “$13 to $1,150 per referral”, and “Advisory Firms that pay higher compensation are prioritized” (its endorsement disclosure, effective November 13, 2025)

How advisor matching services actually make money

None of these services charges you, which means all of them are paid by the advisors — and the payment structure shapes the product. Three structures are worth understanding before you submit a form:

  • Per-lead referral fees. The most common model: firms pay for introductions whether or not you become a client. SmartAsset states it receives compensation from the advisers it refers (source), and WiserAdvisor states advisors pay a fee to be in its network (source). Datalign’s legal disclosures go further than most: they explain that its referral fee varies with your profile, and that when multiple participating firms are equally suitable, the introduction is decided by which firm bids the highest referral fee — a conflict of interest Datalign itself discloses.
  • Paid only if you become a client. Wealthramp states it is paid through fee-sharing only after you establish a client relationship, that advisors cannot charge you more to cover it, and that advisors do not pay to join the network or per lead (source). Zoe Financial describes a hybrid: either recurring revenue from the advisor for as long as you remain a client, or a fixed referral fee (source).
  • Even the big brands are paid, and one of them says payment sets the order. NerdWallet’s own endorsement disclosure (effective November 13, 2025) states that its platform “displays up to three Advisory Firms per User” and that “Advisory Firms that pay higher compensation are prioritized”, with lead-generation fees ranging “from $13 to $1,150 per referral”. The disclosure does not name which firms are in its network. That is worth remembering when a “best of” list ranks the service that pays its author: almost every ranking page for this industry is published by a matching service or by its paid promoter. Clear Money Guide’s own partner button (above) earns a referral fee too — the difference we can offer is putting every service’s economics, including our own, in plain sight.

What each network screens for

Each network’s own published criteria, in no particular order. These describe what a platform checks before an advisor joins; none of them replaces confirming fiduciary status and compensation model on your own first call.

  • Wealthramp — we could not verify its screening standard from any reachable source: its Form ADV Part 2A and its website both return access errors to us, so we no longer state a fee-only requirement. Its Form CRS confirms it refers clients to third-party advisers and imposes no account minimum. The network is deliberately small and curated.
  • Zoe Financial — fiduciary responsibility required, plus a CFP® or CFA designation and a minimum of five years of relevant experience (vetting page, read August 1, 2026). Its Form CRS states it imposes no minimum account size.
  • SmartAsset — advisers must be registered as fiduciaries and pass SmartAsset’s due-diligence criteria, though the criteria themselves are not published and SmartAsset states it does not review ongoing adviser performance.
  • Unbiased — describes its advisors as SEC-registered fiduciaries, but publishes few specifics beyond that.
  • WiserAdvisor — screens for experience, compensation model, and clean FINRA/SEC records, but does not require fiduciary status; fee-based advisors are included.
  • Datalign — its Form ADV Part 2A screens firms for registration status, disciplinary history and services offered and requires SEC- or state-registered investment advisers, but publishes no credential bar; its own disclosures call the screening criteria “limited” and no substitute for your own due diligence.

Whatever any service promises, the check is the same and takes ten minutes: look the firm up free on the SEC’s Investment Adviser Public Disclosure site, read the fee section of its Form ADV brochure, and ask for the fee in written annual dollars. Our methodology page explains how we use these same records, and our advisor statistics section shows what the SEC data says about advisory firms in your state.

Which service fits which situation

Educational patterns, not advice: if you want a small curated network and no sales pressure, Wealthramp is the narrowest funnel here, and it states no minimum. If you want a credentialed shortlist with concierge help, Zoe’s designation requirement is the differentiator, and it states no minimum either. If you want several matches fast and are comfortable doing your own vetting, SmartAsset and WiserAdvisor produce comparison sets. If you prefer exactly one introduction rather than several calls, Unbiased is the remaining route — with the vetting caveats above. Datalign was that route until its Form ADV Part 2A dated May 21, 2026 moved it to up to three firms, all of which its brochure says will contact you. See how the fee you ultimately agree to compounds with the Fee Drag Calculator.

The free-directory alternative

Matching services are not the only route. Professional directories charge you nothing, sell no leads, and let you search rather than be matched: NAPFA (fee-only advisors), the CFP Board’s Let’s Make a Plan, the Garrett Planning Network (hourly and flat-fee planners), and the XY Planning Network (flat-fee, no-minimum planners). The trade-off is effort: you build your own shortlist and make your own calls. Our fee-only advisor near me guide walks through that process.

Five copy/paste questions for any matched advisor

  1. Are you a fiduciary for me on every account and every recommendation, in writing — and are you fee-only or fee-based?
  2. What is my all-in cost in dollars for the first 12 months, including your fee, fund expenses, and platform charges?
  3. What did the matching service that introduced us charge you for this introduction, and does any of that cost flow back into my fee?
  4. What are your breakpoints, and what exactly happens to my rate at $500,000 and $1,000,000?
  5. Can you send me your Form ADV Part 2 brochure and point me to the fee section before our first call?

More in our full guide: questions to ask a financial advisor.

Calculator line: Before you agree to any fee, run it through the Financial Advisor Fee Calculator and the Fee Drag Calculator to see the 10–30 year dollar impact.

Methodology

This page was materially reviewed on July 23, 2026. Every service fact is drawn from that service’s own public website, FAQ, or legal disclosures as of that date, with source links inline; “not stated” means the service does not publish the fact. Company claims (user counts, network quality) are the companies’ own unaudited statements. Nothing here is personalized financial, tax, legal, or investment advice. Related comparisons: SmartAsset alternatives, Datalign vs SmartAsset, Datalign vs Zoe, SmartAsset vs WiserAdvisor, and our reviews of Datalign, WiserAdvisor, Zoe Financial, and SmartAsset advisor matching. See our Editorial Policy, Corrections, Affiliate Disclosure, and Disclaimer.

Correction, August 1, 2026. We re-verified every service claim on this page against the companies’ own current filings and disclosure pages. Statements we could no longer source — including a Zoe account minimum, which Zoe’s Form CRS expressly disclaims — have been removed or restated to match the primary documents, which are dated inline.

Two more services, read from their filings: Wealthramp discloses that advisers “pay us different levels of fees”, creating “an incentive to refer you to” the ones paying more, and requires no account minimum. Money Pickle states advisers pay it $200–$5,000 and that this “does result in a material conflict of interest” — and its standard is licensing, not fiduciary status.

The questions people actually ask

These come from what people actually search and ask in public threads on this topic. Each answer is a short summary of a page on this site that works the question through properly, with its sources; follow the link when the detail matters, which on most of these it does.

Do these services cost me anything?
No — every one of them is free to the consumer and paid by the advisor, whether per lead, per converted client, or as a share of the ongoing advisory fee. That is the economics to hold in mind: a match is a paid introduction rather than a personalised recommendation.

Do the advisors have to be fiduciaries?
It varies by network and several publish no fiduciary requirement at all. Because the standards differ, confirming fiduciary status in writing on the first call is worth doing regardless of which service sent the introduction. How to verify it in the filings.

Does paying more get an advisor shown to me first?
On at least one large platform, its own disclosure says so directly: NerdWallet’s endorsement disclosure states that “Advisory Firms that pay higher compensation are prioritized”. Other services disclose per-lead or revenue-share compensation without addressing match order either way.

Is there a minimum portfolio size?
Some networks state none at the service level while individual advisors set their own; others are tuned to larger balances in practice even without a published floor. The table above records what each one actually publishes rather than what it implies.

How do I compare the advisors I get matched with?
Get every quote in written annual dollars, then judge it against measured data rather than instinct — our benchmark computes what firms actually charge at five portfolio sizes from their own SEC filings. The measured figures.

What should I ask before I commit to any of them?
The same five questions apply whichever service made the introduction: fiduciary in writing, fee-only or fee-based, all-in annual cost in dollars, who custodies the assets, and what the public record shows. The list, with follow-ups.

Are the reviews I read of these services independent?
Often not. Much of the ranking content in this category is published by a matching service itself or by a paid promoter of one, which is worth knowing before treating a “best of” list as neutral. We disclose our own partner relationship in plain language on every page where it applies, and the compensation does not change our calculator math or fee examples.

Ten more ways to get advice or manage your own investments, each reviewed against its own current pricing and filings: Harness Wealth, Facet, Range, Domain Money, Empower Personal Wealth, Betterment, Wealthfront, Fidelity Go, Schwab Intelligent Portfolios, and Vanguard Personal Advisor.

See the option on this page