Skip to content
Independent money guidance
Clear Money Guide
Start here
Menu

SmartAsset Alternatives (2026): 6 Other Ways to Find a Financial Advisor

Clear Money Guide

Review at a glance

Check fit, cost and limitations before deciding.

Comparison tables scroll horizontally on smaller screens.

Updated August 20, 2026. Quick answer: People search for SmartAsset alternatives for three main reasons: they want fewer sales calls (SmartAsset introduces up to three advisors), a stricter standard than “registered fiduciary” (only one competitor requires fee-only), or a directory they control instead of a matching form. All six alternatives below are free to use; each changes one of those three things. Facts come from each service’s own pages as of July 23, 2026.

Fast routes: All matching services compared | Datalign vs SmartAsset | Fee-only advisor near me | How much an advisor costs

The six alternatives at a glance

Alternative What changes vs SmartAsset Standard required Stated minimum
Wealthramp Small curated network; no advisor contacts you until you ask Not verifiable — its brochure and website are both access-blocked None
Zoe Financial Credential bar: advisors hold a CFP® or CFA Fiduciary + designation + 5 years None stated (Form CRS, June 29, 2026)
Datalign Advisory Up to three firms, same as SmartAsset (Form ADV Part 2A, May 21, 2026) SEC- or state-registered investment advisers; no credential bar Not stated
Unbiased One match; your details go only to that one advisor SEC-registered fiduciary (its stated claim) Not stated
WiserAdvisor Similar multi-match model, running since 1998, human consultant in the loop Licensing and clean records; no fiduciary requirement None
Free directories (NAPFA, CFP Board, Garrett, XYPN) You search; nobody sells your contact details Varies by directory (NAPFA = fee-only) None

Or skip the comparison and try our own matching form.

Every service above works the same way — a short form, a match with a few advisers, free to you. Ours runs right here on the page instead of sending you elsewhere.

Before you start, what actually happens. The form is run by Kapitalwise, our advisor-matching partner. Kapitalwise sends your details to advisers who pay for the introduction, so expect calls and texts. Clear Money Guide is paid when you submit the form, whether or not you ever hire anyone. This is free to you and there is no obligation to hire anyone.

The Kapitalwise form opens here — you stay on this page.

What happens when you press the button

It asks about nine questions — age, investable assets, location — then your name, email and phone number, and verifies the phone by text. Nothing loads and nothing reaches Kapitalwise until you press the button.

If your reason for leaving SmartAsset is the volume of calls rather than the model itself, a single-introduction route may be all you need.

Disclosure: this button routes to our referral partner, WiserAdvisor. Clear Money Guide participates in the WiserAdvisor referral program and may earn compensation when a reader submits a form through our partner route, at no extra cost to you. Partner compensation does not change our calculator math, fee examples, or editorial standards. No company on this page paid for placement. See our Affiliate Disclosure.

Why people look for an alternative

SmartAsset’s SmartAdvisor is free and matches you with up to three fiduciary-registered advisors, who then compete for your business — which is exactly why the most common complaint is contact volume. Two other structural facts are worth knowing before you pick a replacement. First, SmartAsset requires fiduciary registration but not fee-only compensation, so commissioned products can still appear in a “fiduciary” match; our fee-only guide explains why that distinction moves real dollars. Second, like every matching service, SmartAsset is paid by the advisors, not by you — it states plainly that it receives compensation from the advisers it refers (source). An alternative should fix the thing you actually dislike: the call volume, the standard, or the lead-selling model itself.

If the problem is the vetting standard

Wealthramp runs a deliberately small, curated network and states that no advisor contacts you until you request the meeting. We could not verify its screening standard from any reachable source — its Form ADV Part 2A and its website both return access errors to us — so we do not state a fee-only or oath requirement for it, and it is paid only after you actually become a client. Zoe Financial takes a different route to rigor: every advisor must be a fiduciary and hold a CFP® or CFA with five-plus years of relevant experience, and its Form CRS states it imposes no minimum account size. Full detail on both in the matching services comparison.

If the problem is three sales calls: Unbiased

One option is genuinely left here, and one dropped out. Unbiased delivers exactly one match and states your details are shared only with that single advisor — the quietest option of the group, though it publishes the least about its vetting. Datalign no longer belongs in this section: its Form ADV Part 2A dated May 21, 2026 states it introduces up to three firms and that you will be contacted by all three, so it is not an escape from parallel calls. Its own disclosures also state that its screening criteria are “limited” and that when several firms fit equally, the introduction goes to the firm bidding the highest referral fee. Our Datalign review covers what that means in practice.

If you’d rather search than be matched: the free directories

Directories flip the model: you browse, nobody gets your phone number until you reach out. NAPFA lists fee-only fiduciary advisors; the CFP Board’s Let’s Make a Plan lists CFP® professionals; the Garrett Planning Network specializes in hourly and flat-fee planners; and the XY Planning Network lists flat-fee planners with no asset minimums. This is the most work and the most control — pair it with our questions to ask a financial advisor checklist for the calls.

What no alternative changes

Every matching service in this market is paid by advisors, so every match arrives with a built-in economic interest — including the partner button on this page. The defense is the same everywhere and takes ten minutes: verify the firm free on the SEC’s Investment Adviser Public Disclosure site, read the fee section of its Form ADV brochure, get the fee in written annual dollars, and run it through the Financial Advisor Fee Calculator and Fee Drag Calculator before you sign anything.

Methodology

This page was materially reviewed on July 23, 2026. Service facts are drawn from each company’s own public pages and disclosures as of that date, with sources linked inline; company claims are their own unaudited statements. Nothing here is personalized financial, tax, legal, or investment advice. See our Editorial Policy, Corrections, Affiliate Disclosure, and Disclaimer.

Correction, August 1, 2026. We re-verified every service claim on this page against the companies’ own current filings and disclosure pages. Statements we could no longer source — including a Zoe account minimum, which Zoe’s Form CRS expressly disclaims — have been removed or restated to match the primary documents, which are dated inline.

Two more services, read from their filings: Wealthramp discloses that advisers “pay us different levels of fees”, creating “an incentive to refer you to” the ones paying more, and requires no account minimum. Money Pickle states advisers pay it $200–$5,000 and that this “does result in a material conflict of interest” — and its standard is licensing, not fiduciary status.

Most people comparing these services already have an advisor, and what leaving costs and when it pays back prices that side of the decision: the transfer-out fee, the tax on holdings that cannot move in kind, and the months to repay both.

Beyond the matching services above, ten fee-for-service and robo-advisor reviews, each priced from the company's own current pages: Harness Wealth, Facet, Range, Domain Money, Empower Personal Wealth, Betterment, Wealthfront, Fidelity Go, Schwab Intelligent Portfolios, and Vanguard Personal Advisor.

See whether an adviser match is worth comparing