Updated September 3, 2026. Quick answer: Oregon Public Employees Retirement System (PERS): the COLA is automatic, capped at 2% per year (1.25% on service after October 2013), service credit can be purchased, and no DROP was found. Vesting takes five years of service (600 hours per year), or is reached automatically upon turning 65 while an active member.
Provisional. This page is published at medium confidence. The specific points that could not be confirmed are listed under What could not be verified below, and are named rather than smoothed over.
The verdicts
| Is the COLA granted? | Automatic |
|---|---|
| Is the COLA compounded? | Not stated |
| Vesting | 5 years of service (or reaching normal retirement age) |
| Buy service credit? | Yes |
| DROP? | None found |
| State | Oregon |
Those first two rows are separate questions and are routinely confused. Whether you get an increase at all is one thing; whether it compounds is another. A system can grant an increase automatically every year and still compute it against your original benefit forever, which is a materially worse deal than it sounds.
The COLA
“COLAs are limited to a maximum of 2% each year.” This cap is based on “a regional Consumer Price Index (CPI) set by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics for the prior year.” A split rate applies by when service was earned: 2% on service credit earned up to October 1, 2013 (with an exception for some OPSRP members), and 1.25% on service credit earned after that date. A CPI-carryover mechanism banks any shortfall between actual inflation and the cap for future years, though the official page does not state whether the adjustment compounds on the current benefit or a fixed original base.
Buying service credit
PERS purchasable service includes up to 4 years of USERRA/military service, out-of-state teaching or police service time, wildland-firefighter time, non-duty disability time, redeposit of forfeited service, waiting-period time, and seasonal service. Full-cost purchases (military, out-of-state teaching/police) require the member to “pay PERS the full cost to the system of providing the additional retirement credit to the member, plus a $145 fee to cover administrative costs of processing the purchase.” Waiting-time purchase instead costs only “his/her contributions and the employer’s contributions,” with no interest charged.
Run your own numbers before deciding: some purchases never recover their cost, and the calculator shows which.
Coordinate this with your overall retirement plan
An adviser can help weigh a COLA that may not compound, a service-credit purchase that may never pay for itself, or a DROP election against the rest of your retirement plan, but that does not replace the numbers in your own member statement.
Before you start, what actually happens. The form is run by Kapitalwise, our advisor-matching partner. Kapitalwise sends your details to advisers who pay for the introduction, so expect calls and texts. Clear Money Guide is paid when you submit the form, whether or not you hire anyone. The matching service is free to you and there is no obligation to hire anyone.
The Kapitalwise form opens here. You stay on this page.
What happens when you press the button
It requests contact details and phone verification by text. Nothing loads and nothing reaches Kapitalwise until you press the button. Submitting the form does not guarantee an adviser or a match. This matching form is not tax or legal advice.
Vesting
“You are vested in your Tier One or Tier Two account on the earliest date in which you complete at least 600 hours of service in each of five calendar years (the years do not have to be consecutive, but you cannot have a gap of more than five years).” An active OPSRP member (hired 8/29/2003 or later) also vests by working “in a qualifying position on or after reaching normal retirement age, which is 65 for general service.”
DROP
No DROP program appears in Oregon PERS’s materials. PERS does run a separate Individual Account Program (IAP), but the system’s own site distinguishes it explicitly from a pension: “The difference is that a pension can provide you with a lifetime monthly income that never runs out, while an account-based benefit, like your IAP, is a finite amount of money.”
DROP is rarer than it appears across the systems on this site: most have none.
What could not be verified
REFUND TERMS: this page does not state what happens to your contributions if you take a refund instead of leaving your account with the system: that comparison was not independently researched for this system this session, and is left as an open gap rather than guessed from another system’s rule. Consult your own plan’s refund/forfeiture terms before deciding. Any additional field marked “not stated” in the verdicts table above was genuinely absent from the official materials read, not omitted for space.
Sources
- Oregon PERS Tier One/Two eligibility
- Oregon PERS COLA page
- Oregon PERS purchases
- Oregon PERS OPSRP/IAP overview
Read September 3, 2026.
Related public pension systems: Connecticut SERS · Connecticut TRB.
General information drawn from each system’s own official published materials, not legal, tax or financial advice. Vesting, COLA and buyback rules are set by state statute and plan tier, differ materially by hire date, and can change by future legislation. This page cannot see your own member statement, which governs. We are not a law firm, a tax adviser, or a fiduciary, and this is not personalized advice.