Updated September 3, 2026. Quick answer: Connecticut State Employees Retirement System (SERS): the COLA is automatic, in a 2%–7.5% CPI-W-linked range, service credit can be purchased, and SERS itself has no DROP: Connecticut’s DROP belongs to a different system, CMERS, for municipal employees. Vesting runs 5 years of “Actual State Service” or 10 years of the broader “Vesting Service” category, depending on tier.
Provisional. This page is published at medium confidence. The specific points that could not be confirmed are listed under What could not be verified below, and are named rather than smoothed over.
The verdicts
| Is the COLA granted? | Automatic |
|---|---|
| Is the COLA compounded? | Not stated |
| Vesting | 5 or 10 years, by tier and service category |
| Buy service credit? | Yes |
| DROP? | No (Connecticut’s DROP belongs to a different system, CMERS) |
| State | Connecticut |
Those first two rows are separate questions and are routinely confused. Whether you get an increase at all is one thing; whether it compounds is another. A system can grant an increase automatically every year and still compute it against your original benefit forever, which is a materially worse deal than it sounds.
The COLA
“Each member… who is eligible for a retirement benefit… is also eligible to have the amount of his or her benefit increased by periodic cost-of-living adjustments (COLAs).” The formula: “the annual COLA shall be in an amount equal to the CPI-W for any year in which the CPI-W is 2% or less. For all other years, the annual COLA shall be in the range from 2% to 7.5% of the member’s or survivor’s retirement benefit. Within that range, the COLA shall equal (i) 60% of the increase in CPI-W up to 6%, plus (ii) 75% of the increase in CPI-W over 6%.” Members retiring on or after August 1, 2022 get their first COLA “on the first day of the month that occurs 30 months after your retirement.” Whether later COLAs compound on the current benefit is not stated in the SPDs reviewed.
Buying service credit
SERS purchasable service includes prior military service (up to 10 years combined with national-emergency time), up to 10 years of prior service to another state, service to a Connecticut municipality via CMERS transfer, and qualifying leaves of absence (up to 15 months per 5-year period). Cost since July 1, 2017: military and other-state service require “Employee Contributions… plus five percent interest”; CMERS transfers cost “an amount equal to those CMERS contributions, plus five percent interest.”
Run your own numbers before deciding: some purchases never recover their cost, and the calculator shows which.
Coordinate this with your overall retirement plan
An adviser can help weigh a COLA that may not compound, a service-credit purchase that may never pay for itself, or a DROP election against the rest of your retirement plan, but that does not replace the numbers in your own member statement.
Before you start, what actually happens. The form is run by Kapitalwise, our advisor-matching partner. Kapitalwise sends your details to advisers who pay for the introduction, so expect calls and texts. Clear Money Guide is paid when you submit the form, whether or not you hire anyone. The matching service is free to you and there is no obligation to hire anyone.
The Kapitalwise form opens here. You stay on this page.
What happens when you press the button
It requests contact details and phone verification by text. Nothing loads and nothing reaches Kapitalwise until you press the button. Submitting the form does not guarantee an adviser or a match. This matching form is not tax or legal advice.
Vesting
Tier II and Tier IIA each carry two vesting paths: if you have completed 5 years of Actual State Service, at least some portion of which was performed after July 1, 1997, then you have “vested” in Tier II; or if you have completed 10 years of Vesting Service, you have “vested” in Tier II. Tier III and Tier IV recognize only the 10-year Vesting Service path. “Vesting Service” is a broader defined term than “Actual State Service,” additionally counting certain military time, other-state service, and qualifying unpaid leave. Tier I was not independently checked this session.
DROP
No DROP provision appears in the Tier II, IIA, III or IV SERS Summary Plan Descriptions. Connecticut does run a genuine DROP, effective July 1, 2025, but it belongs to the Connecticut Municipal Employees’ Retirement System (CMERS): a separate system for municipal, not state, employees. Do not conflate the two: a state employee under SERS has no DROP access through that program.
DROP is rarer than it appears across the systems on this site: most have none.
What could not be verified
REFUND TERMS: this page does not state what happens to your contributions if you take a refund instead of leaving your account with the system: that comparison was not independently researched for this system this session, and is left as an open gap rather than guessed from another system’s rule. Consult your own plan’s refund/forfeiture terms before deciding. Any additional field marked “not stated” in the verdicts table above was genuinely absent from the official materials read, not omitted for space.
Sources
- SERS Tier II Summary Plan Description
- SERS Tier IV Summary Plan Description
- Connecticut DROP SPD (CMERS)
Read September 3, 2026.
Related public pension systems: Connecticut TRB · Iowa IPERS.
General information drawn from each system’s own official published materials, not legal, tax or financial advice. Vesting, COLA and buyback rules are set by state statute and plan tier, differ materially by hire date, and can change by future legislation. This page cannot see your own member statement, which governs. We are not a law firm, a tax adviser, or a fiduciary, and this is not personalized advice.