Skip to content
Independent money guidance
Clear Money Guide
Start here
Menu

Iowa IPERS: COLA, Vesting, Buyback and DROP

Updated September 3, 2026. Quick answer: Iowa Public Employees’ Retirement System (IPERS): there is no general COLA for most current retirees: only pre-1990 retirees get a guaranteed “November Dividend” base, and only Sheriffs (from 2024) and Protection Occupations members (from 2026) get an automatic 1.5% compounding increase. Service credit can be purchased, and no DROP was found. Regular Members hired on or after July 1, 2012 vest after seven years (28 quarters) of service, or at age 65 while still working in covered employment.

Iowa’s municipal fire and police system runs on separate rules: Iowa MFPRSI retirement decisions.

Provisional. This page is published at medium confidence. The specific points that could not be confirmed are listed under What could not be verified below, and are named rather than smoothed over.

The verdicts

Is the COLA granted?Narrow: not a general benefit for most current retirees
Is the COLA compounded?Compounding for the two newest 1.5% cohorts only
Vesting7 years (28 quarters), or age 65 while covered
Buy service credit?Yes
DROP?None found
StateIowa

Those first two rows are separate questions and are routinely confused. Whether you get an increase at all is one thing; whether it compounds is another. A system can grant an increase automatically every year and still compute it against your original benefit forever, which is a materially worse deal than it sounds.

The COLA

IPERS is unusual among the systems on this page: most current retirees get no general COLA at all. Pre-July 1, 1990 retirees get a guaranteed “November Dividend” (13th check) base under Iowa Code section 97B.49F(1), with an optional multiplier “applied only if IPERS’ actuary certifies that the increase can be supported by current contribution rates.” Post-1990 general Regular Member retirees instead depended on a separate Favorable Experience Dividend: “The final FED payments were made in January 2014, exhausting the FED account.” It has not resumed since. Two narrow new cohorts do get an automatic COLA: Sheriffs/Deputy Sheriffs retiring on or after July 1, 2024, and Protection Occupations members retiring on or after July 1, 2026, both get “a 1.5% annual compounding cost-of-living adjustment.”

Coordinate this with your overall retirement plan

An adviser can help weigh a COLA that may not compound, a service-credit purchase that may never pay for itself, or a DROP election against the rest of your retirement plan, but that does not replace the numbers in your own member statement.

Before you start, what actually happens. The form is run by Kapitalwise, our advisor-matching partner. Kapitalwise sends your details to advisers who pay for the introduction, so expect calls and texts. Clear Money Guide may earn a referral payment through this service, whether or not you hire anyone. The matching service is free to you and there is no obligation to hire anyone.

The Kapitalwise form opens here. You stay on this page.

What happens when you press the button

It requests contact details and phone verification by text. Nothing loads and nothing reaches Kapitalwise until you press the button. Submitting the form does not guarantee an adviser or a match. This matching form is not tax or legal advice.

Buying service credit

IPERS lets members purchase active-duty U.S. military service (if not receiving military disability benefits instead), non-regular military service with retirement pay, and (if the member returns to covered employment within one year of discharge) free military service credit. A refunded-service buy-back is also available, with “a credit against the actuarial cost” for qualifying pre-1998 refunds from a member who was vested at the time and returned to covered employment before July 1, 1998.

Run your own numbers before deciding: some purchases never recover their cost, and the calculator shows which.

Vesting

“As of July 1, 2012, regular members become vested after accruing seven years (28 quarters) of service, or are at least 65-years-old while working in IPERS-covered-employment, whichever occurs first.” “Prior to July 2012, members vested with four years (16 quarters) of service or when they were at least age 55 working in IPERS-covered employment, whichever happened first.”

DROP

No DROP program appears in the IPERS vesting, dividend, or COLA pages reviewed this session.

DROP is rarer than it appears across the systems on this site: most have none.

Payment options and the survivor election

IPERS pays a monthly benefit for the member’s life, and the member chooses among six payment options that differ in what is paid after death. IPERS puts it this way: “You may choose monthly benefit payments under one of six options that differ according to the death benefits provided.” The choice is made on the retirement application, and it has a firm deadline. IPERS says “You may not change your option once your first benefit payment is issued.”

Option 1 is an annuity with a fixed lump-sum survivor benefit: the member specifies a death benefit in $1,000 increments to be paid in a lump sum to a beneficiary, and the page says “The death benefit amount cannot exceed your total contributions plus interest.” Option 2 is an annuity with a variable decreasing lump sum. IPERS says that after the member’s death the beneficiary “receives the difference between the retirement benefits you received and your total contributions plus interest”, and the page adds that “A death benefit is not guaranteed”. Option 3 is the single life annuity, where “no death benefit is payable to your beneficiary(ies)”.

Options 4 and 6 are the survivor elections. In both, the member names a contingent annuitant instead of a beneficiary, and IPERS describes that person as “someone who may receive monthly payments after your death”. The member picks whether the contingent annuitant receives 100%, 75%, 50% or 25% of the monthly benefit after the member’s death. They differ when the contingent annuitant dies first. Under Option 4, IPERS says “Your retirement benefit payment will not change if your contingent annuitant dies before you die.” Under Option 6, the pop-up version, “If your contingent annuitant dies before you, your benefit pops up to what it would have been under Option 2.” Both options carry a limit: restrictions on percentages apply if the contingent annuitant is not the spouse and is more than 10 years younger than the member, and the contingent annuitant cannot be changed after the first monthly payment. For the general trade-off between a single-life and a survivor annuity, see single life versus joint and survivor pension.

Option 5 is a 120-month term certain annuity. If the member lives to receive 120 payments, no death benefit is payable. If the member dies sooner, IPERS says “your sole beneficiary receives the same monthly retirement benefit for the remainder of the 120 months”, while multiple beneficiaries receive a lump sum instead. The page also states “Must be under age 90 to elect this option.”

A computed example from an assumed $40,000 in total contributions plus interest and an assumed $30,000 in retirement benefits received, not an IPERS figure, shows the Option 2 rule at work. The difference is a computed $40,000 minus $30,000, which is a computed $10,000 that would go to the beneficiary. The page gives no such figures.

Payment option figures stated by IPERS
ItemFigureWhere IPERS states it
Number of payment optionssixIPERS payment options page
Fixed lump-sum increments, Option 1$1,000IPERS payment options page
Survivor percentages, Options 4 and 6100%, 75%, 50% or 25%IPERS payment options page
Age gap that triggers percentage limits for a non-spousemore than 10 years youngerIPERS payment options page
Term certain payments, Option 5120 paymentsIPERS payment options page
Age limit to elect Option 5under age 90IPERS payment options page

What the pages read do not state: the reduction in the monthly benefit for any option, the factors used to price Options 4 and 6, or what the percentage restrictions for a younger non-spouse contingent annuitant are. The page says IPERS can provide an estimate for each option.

Sources for this section:

What could not be verified

REFUND TERMS: this page does not state what happens to your contributions if you take a refund instead of leaving your account with the system: that comparison was not independently researched for this system this session, and is left as an open gap rather than guessed from another system’s rule. Consult your own plan’s refund/forfeiture terms before deciding. Any additional field marked “not stated” in the verdicts table above was genuinely absent from the official materials read, not omitted for space.

Sources

Read September 3, 2026.

Related public pension systems: Wisconsin WRS · New Mexico PERA.

General information drawn from each system’s own official published materials, not legal, tax or financial advice. Vesting, COLA and buyback rules are set by state statute and plan tier, differ materially by hire date, and can change by future legislation. This page cannot see your own member statement, which governs. We are not a law firm, a tax adviser, or a fiduciary, and this is not personalized advice.

See whether an adviser match is worth comparing