Skip to content
Independent money guidance
Clear Money Guide
Start here
Menu

Brown Advisory Minimum Investment (2026): What It Takes to Open an Account

Guides › Financial Advisor Fees

Updated September 28, 2026. Quick answer: Brown Advisory’s own Form ADV Part 2A brochure does not state a single account-opening minimum for its non-institutional Private Client relationships, the audience this page’s own fee figures address. Its Institutional single-strategy separately managed accounts each carry their own disclosed minimum, ranging from $2 million (for example, Enhanced Cash or Limited Duration) up to $50 million (for example, Global Leaders), all explicitly waivable: “In all cases, minimum account sizes may be negotiated or waived entirely,” and “Brown Advisory waives minimum investment requirements from time to time, in its discretion.” For Private Client accounts, the brochure states only that “Private Client account minimums needed to establish a separate account may be higher than those required for Institutional clients,” without naming a figure.

The minimum, in the firm’s own words

Brown Advisory’s own Form ADV Part 2A brochure does not state a single account-opening minimum for its non-institutional Private Client relationships, the audience this page’s own fee figures address. Its Institutional single-strategy separately managed accounts each carry their own disclosed minimum, ranging from $2 million (for example, Enhanced Cash or Limited Duration) up to $50 million (for example, Global Leaders), all explicitly waivable: “In all cases, minimum account sizes may be negotiated or waived entirely,” and “Brown Advisory waives minimum investment requirements from time to time, in its discretion.” For Private Client accounts, the brochure states only that “Private Client account minimums needed to establish a separate account may be higher than those required for Institutional clients,” without naming a figure.

Minimum investment and what it would cost

ProgramMinimum investmentAnnual fee at that minimumWaivable?
a Private Client separately managed accountNo single figure; institutional single-strategy minimums run $2M-$50M, waivable, Private Client minimum unstatedVaries with account sizeYes, at the firm’s discretion (repeatedly stated)
Source: Form ADV Part 2A, March 25, 2026

Brown Advisory’s own fee schedule at other balances

Account balanceAnnual fee
$250,000$3,125
$500,000$6,250
$1,000,000$12,500
$2,000,000$25,000

What else to know

Brown Advisory also states a separate $100,000 minimum for its private funds, “subject to waiver at the discretion of Brown Advisory or its affiliates.” The fee figures above use Brown Advisory’s own sub-$5,000,000 waived-minimum schedule (1.25% on the first $3,000,000, 1.00% on the next $2,000,000), which its brochure states is the schedule that applies once the standard $5,000,000 institutional minimum is waived, exactly the arrangement a reader at these balances would need.

What a larger account would cost

The minimum is only the entry point. On a $500,000 account, Brown Advisory’s own published fee schedule runs $6,250 a year; see the full dollar breakdown from Brown Advisory’s own fee disclosure across several account sizes. Read our full review of Brown Advisory before you decide.

Already a client and thinking about the minimum a different way, like whether you could get a better deal elsewhere? Read the general mechanics of switching financial advisors, or use a dated termination letter once you decide.

Compare your next step

About how much do you have invested?

Choose a range to see an adviser-matching option. No contact details at this step.

Just comparing fees? Keep reading the fee guide.

Sources

Methodology. This page was built September 28, 2026, quoting directly from Brown Advisory’s own current Form ADV Part 2A / wrap-fee brochure, with the source linked above. The annual-fee-at-the-minimum figure applies that same brochure’s own published fee schedule to the disclosed minimum dollar amount; any distinction we could not independently confirm this session is named as an honest gap rather than presented as verified. Nothing here is personalized financial, tax, legal, or investment advice, and it is not a substitute for reading the firm’s own Form ADV Part 2A. See our Editorial Policy, Corrections, Affiliate Disclosure, and Disclaimer.

How much do you need to open an account? Compare the minimum investment at 128 advisory firms, each taken from the firm’s own Form ADV Part 2A brochure.