Updated September 3, 2026. Quick answer: Oklahoma Public Employees Retirement System (OPERS): the COLA is discretionary; only the Legislature can grant one, service credit can be purchased, and OPERS has no DROP: it instead runs a permanent-multiplier program called “2.5% Step-Up,” which is not the same mechanism. Vesting takes eight years of credited service, six of which must be full-time-equivalent employment.
Provisional. This page is published at medium confidence. The specific points that could not be confirmed are listed under What could not be verified below, and are named rather than smoothed over.
The verdicts
| Is the COLA granted? | Discretionary (Legislature has sole authority) |
|---|---|
| Is the COLA compounded? | Not stated |
| Vesting | 8 years of credited service |
| Buy service credit? | Yes |
| DROP? | No, but has a separate “2.5% Step-Up” multiplier program |
| State | Oklahoma |
Those first two rows are separate questions and are routinely confused. Whether you get an increase at all is one thing; whether it compounds is another. A system can grant an increase automatically every year and still compute it against your original benefit forever, which is a materially worse deal than it sounds.
The COLA
“OPERS cannot grant a COLA on its own; the Oklahoma Legislature has sole authority to provide COLAs for OPERS and URSJJ members.” How OPERS internally plans for COLA costs between legislative actions was not found in the materials reviewed for this system. The most recent legislated round applies to members retired and receiving benefits as of June 30, 2026: those retired on July 1, 2006 or earlier get a 6% increase, those who retired between August 1, 2006 and July 1, 2016 get a 3% increase, and those who retired after that get no adjustment, effective on the benefit deposited on November 30, 2026.
Buying service credit
OPERS purchasable service includes military service (free for members who joined before July 1, 2000; actuarial cost after that date; USERRA buyback for military-absence gaps), withdrawal payback to restore prior service credit, and prior service transferred from several other Oklahoma retirement systems (Firefighters, Police Pension, Uniform Retirement System for Justices and Judges, Law Enforcement, and Teachers’). The exact cost formula for these purchases was not found in the materials reviewed for this system.
Run your own numbers before deciding: some purchases never recover their cost, and the calculator shows which.
Coordinate this with your overall retirement plan
An adviser can help weigh a COLA that may not compound, a service-credit purchase that may never pay for itself, or a DROP election against the rest of your retirement plan, but that does not replace the numbers in your own member statement.
Before you start, what actually happens. The form is run by Kapitalwise, our advisor-matching partner. Kapitalwise sends your details to advisers who pay for the introduction, so expect calls and texts. Clear Money Guide is paid when you submit the form, whether or not you hire anyone. The matching service is free to you and there is no obligation to hire anyone.
The Kapitalwise form opens here. You stay on this page.
What happens when you press the button
It requests contact details and phone verification by text. Nothing loads and nothing reaches Kapitalwise until you press the button. Submitting the form does not guarantee an adviser or a match. This matching form is not tax or legal advice.
Vesting
“A member automatically vests once they have eight years of credited service, six years of which must be full-time-equivalent employment.” The vesting page reviewed did not break out any hire-date tiering, so whether tiers exist is unverified.
DROP
OPERS has no Deferred Retirement Option Plan. It runs a different, permanent-multiplier program called “2.5% Step-Up”: “The 2.5% Step-Up program allows you to increase your OPERS benefit by paying more each pay period. Currently, the extra contribution is 2.91% of your compensation.” OPERS’s standard benefit computation factor is 2.0%; Step-Up participants instead get a 2.5% factor on “full years of participating service earned after starting Step-Up.” “Keep in mind, once you join in Step-Up, you are always in the program. You cannot stop or pause the added Step-Up contribution.” This lacks a DROP’s defining feature (a separate account that accrues while a member keeps working); it is instead a permanent benefit-formula increase funded by higher ongoing contributions.
DROP is rarer than it appears across the systems on this site: most have none.
What could not be verified
REFUND TERMS: this page does not state what happens to your contributions if you take a refund instead of leaving your account with the system: that comparison was not independently researched for this system this session, and is left as an open gap rather than guessed from another system’s rule. Consult your own plan’s refund/forfeiture terms before deciding. Any additional field marked “not stated” in the verdicts table above was genuinely absent from the official materials read, not omitted for space.
Sources
- OPERS vesting
- OPERS 2026 COLA legislative update
- OPERS 2.5% Step-Up
- OPERS Pre-Retirement Seminar Workbook 2025
Read September 3, 2026.
Related public pension systems: New Jersey PERS · New Jersey TPAF.
General information drawn from each system’s own official published materials, not legal, tax or financial advice. Vesting, COLA and buyback rules are set by state statute and plan tier, differ materially by hire date, and can change by future legislation. This page cannot see your own member statement, which governs. We are not a law firm, a tax adviser, or a fiduciary, and this is not personalized advice.