Skip to content
Independent money guidance
Clear Money Guide
Start here
Menu

Ohio Promissory Note Template (2026): Usury Limit, Interest, Notary

Updated October 11, 2026. Quick answer: 8% a year on a promissory note, with exemptions that include original principal over $100,000, notes payable on demand or in one installment and not secured by household goods, qualifying business loans, and certain real-estate-secured loans (Ohio Revised Code 1343.01).

Ohio promissory note at a glance

ItemWhat the documents say
Maximum interest rate on a private loan8% a year, with exemptions that include original principal over $100,000, notes payable on demand or in one installment and not secured by household goods, qualifying business loans, and certain real-estate-secured loans
Rate if the note names noneSet under section 5703.47 of the Revised Code on money that has become due and payable, unless a written contract provides a different rate
Penalty for charging too muchNot established by the documents read

What Ohio law says about interest

Ohio lets the parties to a promissory note stipulate interest at any rate not exceeding eight per cent per annum, subject to the exemptions in division (B).

When money becomes due and payable on a note (in cases other than those covered by sections 1343.01 and 1343.02), the creditor is entitled to interest at the rate determined under section 5703.47 of the Revised Code, unless a written contract provides a different rate. This page does not state that percentage.

Division (B) allows a higher rate when the original principal exceeds $100,000; when the instrument is payable on demand or in one installment and is not secured by household furnishings or other goods used for personal, family, or household purposes; for qualifying business loans (a loan secured by an assignment of the obligor’s wages or by household goods is not a business loan); for a broker’s demand debit balance secured by securities; for certain federally or state-agency-backed mortgage loans; and for other loans secured by a mortgage, deed of trust or land installment contract on real estate, capped at eight percent over the ninety-day commercial paper discount rate at the fourth federal reserve district bank.

The sources in their own words

  • Interest limit: “at any rate not exceeding eight per cent per annum” (Section 1343.01 Maximum rate of interest).
  • Exemption or penalty: “exceeds one hundred thousand dollars” (Section 1343.01 Maximum rate of interest).
  • Exemption or penalty: “payable on demand or in one installment” (Section 1343.01 Maximum rate of interest).
  • Rate when none is agreed: “unless a written contract provides a different rate of interest” (Section 1343.03).
  • Time limit to sue: “shall be brought within six years after the due date” (Section 1303.16).
  • Time limit to sue: “promise in writing shall be brought within six years” (Section 2305.06).

If you’re ready to put it in writing

This is free to browse and there is no obligation to buy anything. LawDepot builds a state-specific promissory note through a question-and-answer form.

Build a promissory note at LawDepot

LawDepot pays us a commission if you buy through this link. It costs you nothing extra. We are not a law firm and this is not legal advice. Affiliate Disclosure.

Signing the note: signature, witness, notary

Under Ohio’s UCC 3-401 (ORC 1303.41) a person is not liable on an instrument unless the person signed it or an agent signed for them. A note is signed by the person who promises to pay.

None of the sections read for Ohio requires a witness or a notary for the note itself. A note secured by real property is a separate question; see what an intra-family mortgage requires.

How long a lender has to sue

Ohio gives six years to sue on a note payable at a definite time under its enacted UCC 3-118, and six years on a written contract generally.

A worked example: a $15,000 note

Suppose a relative lends you $15,000 and you sign a note for 5 years at 7% a year, paid monthly. With r = 7%/12 and n = 60 months, the level payment is principal times r divided by (1 minus (1 + r) to the power of negative n): $297.02 a month, computed here from these assumed inputs, not quoted. Over the 60 payments that is $17,821.20 in total, of which $2,821.20 is interest.

The 7% rate sits inside the Ohio limit in the table above, which is why it was chosen. The federal side of a loan between relatives is covered at family loan minimum interest rate and AFR rates by month.

A loan or a gift?

A loan that may never be repaid is taxed differently; see family loan vs gift, forgiving a family loan and gift tax by state.

What the documents do not say

  • The percentage that section 5703.47 sets is not stated in the sections read, so no figure is given for a note that names no rate.
  • The documents read state no penalty for charging above the limit.
  • Silence on a witness or notary in the sections read is not proof that no other Ohio law requires one.

Common mistakes

  • Charging more than the limit in Ohio, which the table gives as 8% (with the exemptions in division (B)): the sections read state no penalty for exceeding it, so check the consequences with a lawyer.
  • Leaving the rate out: this page cannot give Ohio’s default rate, so write the rate down.
  • Waiting too long to enforce: Ohio allows 6 years to sue on a written note.

Related: promissory notes by state, promissory note requirements, family loan minimum interest rate, and gift tax by state.

Sources

Sources: the primary documents linked above, read on October 11, 2026. General information, not legal or tax advice. Statutes change and courts read them, so confirm anything consequential with a lawyer licensed in your state.

See the document option on this page