Updated September 3, 2026. Quick answer: Minnesota Public Employees Retirement Association (PERA), Coordinated Plan: the COLA is automatic and set by statutory formula, and it compounds, service credit can be purchased, and no DROP was found. Vesting takes three years (36 months) of service.
Minnesota police officers and firefighters belong to a separate PERA plan with its own rules: Minnesota PERA Police and Fire retirement decisions.
Provisional. This page is published at medium confidence. The specific points that could not be confirmed are listed under What could not be verified below, and are named rather than smoothed over.
The verdicts
| Is the COLA granted? | Automatic (statutory formula) |
|---|---|
| Is the COLA compounded? | Compounded |
| Vesting | 3 years (36 months) of service |
| Buy service credit? | Yes |
| DROP? | None found |
| State | Minnesota |
Those first two rows are separate questions and are routinely confused. Whether you get an increase at all is one thing; whether it compounds is another. A system can grant an increase automatically every year and still compute it against your original benefit forever, which is a materially worse deal than it sounds.
The COLA
“Annual increases for monthly benefits are determined by Minnesota Statutes.” “After your first increase, all future increases will be the full amount per statute.”: a compounding annual adjustment, not a fixed-base one. Effective January 1, 2026 the Coordinated Plan formula changed to 100% of the Social Security COLA (minimum 1.00%, maximum 1.75%), up from 50% of the SSA CPI figure (minimum 1%, maximum 1.5%) previously.
Buying service credit
PERA members can repay a prior refund, buy back authorized/workers’-comp/military/strike leave, and purchase prior military service. Refund repayment costs “the amount of your original refund plus interest.” Leave buyback costs “Generally, the amount of your missing employee and employer contributions during the leave period, plus interest.” Military service purchase is priced differently: “the actuarial present value of the increase to your future monthly benefit due to the service purchase.” The applicable interest rate has stepped down over time and is currently 7.0% (from 7/2023).
Run your own numbers before deciding: some purchases never recover their cost, and the calculator shows which.
Optional next step
Want help with this pension decision?
Ask an adviser how this choice fits your broader retirement income plan.
- No fee to request a match
- No obligation to hire
Expect questions about your situation, your name, email and phone, and phone verification by text. A match is not guaranteed.
The form is run by Kapitalwise, our advisor-matching partner. Kapitalwise sends your details to advisers who pay for the introduction, so expect calls and texts. Clear Money Guide is paid when you submit the form, whether or not you ever hire anyone. This is free to you and there is no obligation to hire anyone.
Opens here. Nothing loads and nothing reaches Kapitalwise until you press the button.
How our partner relationships workVesting
PERA describes vesting conceptually as earning enough service credit to receive a lifetime monthly benefit after leaving public service and reaching a retirement-eligible age, with one service credit earned per month of contribution, but the specific number of years or months required to vest was not stated in the PERA benefit-basics materials reviewed for this system. PERA’s separate Police & Fire and Correctional plans vest on a graded schedule instead: 50% at 5 years, rising 10 points per year to 100% at 10 years.
DROP
No DROP program appears in PERA’s member pages. The only mention found was in 2024 board-meeting minutes discussing DROP as a hypothetical policy concept, not an active PERA benefit.
DROP is rarer than it appears across the systems on this site: most have none.
Payment options: single life or survivor
PERA’s benefit options page opens with the basic choice a member faces at retirement: “You can choose to collect your monthly benefit for life, or you can receive a lump sum of your employee contributions plus interest.” This section covers the two lifetime monthly choices the page describes, the single-life benefit and the survivor benefit. The lump-sum side of the choice is covered in the refund section below.
The single-life benefit is the simpler of the two. PERA says it “is payable to you for your lifetime only”, and it calls this “the largest monthly benefit option available”. The page also describes what is left when the member dies: “any remaining balance of your contributions will be paid as a lump sum to your beneficiary(ies), and the account is closed”. In plain terms, a single-life benefit pays only while the member lives, with a possible balance of contributions paid to the beneficiary afterward. The page does not say how that balance is calculated.
The survivor benefit extends the payments across a second lifetime. PERA’s wording is “You may choose to extend your monthly benefit across a second lifetime by naming a survivor.” The member picks one of four survivor options, which the page lists as 25%, 50%, 75% or 100%. The cost of the choice is stated this way: “Your monthly amount is reduced”, and the page says the reduction depends on the chosen survivor’s age: “the younger the survivor, the larger the reduction”. So two members who pick the same survivor percentage can see different reductions if their survivors differ in age.
For the general trade-off between a monthly amount that stops at one death and one that continues for a second person, see single life versus joint and survivor pension. For PERA specifically, the decision comes down to the two statements above: the single-life benefit is the largest monthly amount, and any survivor election lowers the monthly amount by an amount that depends on the survivor’s age. The page points to a “Break-Even Calculator” in its member menu, and a member who wants actual reduction amounts for a named survivor would need PERA’s own estimate rather than a general rule.
| Item | Figure or term | Where PERA states it |
|---|---|---|
| Lifetime monthly options described | single-life benefit and survivor benefit | PERA benefit options page |
| Survivor percentage choices | 25%, 50%, 75% or 100% | PERA benefit options page |
| Number of survivor options | four | PERA benefit options page |
| Which option pays the largest monthly amount | single-life benefit | PERA benefit options page |
What the pages read do not state: the reduction factor or table for any survivor percentage, how the survivor’s age enters the calculation beyond the statement that a younger survivor means a larger reduction, whether a survivor can be changed after payments begin, and whether a spouse must consent to a single-life election. No computed example is given here because the pages supply no formula to recompute.
Sources for this section:
- Minnesota Public Employees Retirement Association, www.mnpera.org benefit-options: https://www.mnpera.org/members/plan-retirement/benefit-options
- Minnesota Public Employees Retirement Association, www.mnpera.org refunds-rollovers: https://www.mnpera.org/job-changes/refunds-rollovers
- IRS, Topic no. 413, Rollovers from retirement plans (irs.gov): https://www.irs.gov/taxtopics/tc413
- IRS, Topic no. 558, Additional tax on early distributions from retirement plans other than IRAs (irs.gov): https://www.irs.gov/taxtopics/tc558
Refund of contributions versus leaving the account
The second half of PERA’s choice is the refund. The benefit options page describes it as “a refund of your employee contributions plus interest”, or a rollover of the account balance to another tax qualified plan. The refunds page says the refund amount “consists of your member contributions plus interest, compounded annually”. Employer money is treated differently: “Employer contributions remain with PERA to fund benefits provided by the association.” The benefit options page adds that this holds “regardless of your vesting status or years of public service”.
The central trade-off is stated plainly by PERA. “By taking a refund, you forfeit all future PERA benefits from your account.” The benefit options page says the same thing with a warning: “Carefully consider this option.” For a vested member the alternative is spelled out too: “you may leave your contributions with PERA and draw a benefit when you retire”. For the general comparison, see pension refund versus leaving it.
Taxes depend on where the money goes. PERA says a rollover to a plan that accepts rollovers is not taxed at transfer: “your refund will not be taxed at the time of the transfer”. A lump-sum payment is different: “you are subject to federal taxes and state taxes”. PERA also states the early withdrawal rule: for a member under age 59½, “you will also pay a 10% federal early withdrawal additional income tax, unless an exception applies”. The IRS describes the same additional tax as “equal to 10% of the portion of the distribution that’s includible in gross income”, and lists exceptions, including “Distributions made to you after you separated from service with your employer after attainment of age 55”. The IRS also says a taxable eligible rollover distribution paid to the member is “subject to mandatory income tax withholding (generally at a rate of 20%)”, and that “The mandatory withholding doesn’t apply in a direct rollover.” See the 20 percent withholding rule for how that withholding works.
A computed example of the additional tax, from an assumed $10,000 taxable portion of a refund, not a PERA figure: the IRS formula is 10% of the includible portion, so 10% times a $10,000 assumed portion is a computed $1,000. The example assumes no exception applies and ignores ordinary income tax.
The process has its own steps. After leaving covered employment the member may apply, sending a “Notarized Refund Application”, and PERA says “A refund is payable as a lump sum between 30 and 120 days after we receive your completed application.” The timing may vary with when PERA receives the remaining payroll transactions. Optional “W-4R federal tax form” and Minnesota tax forms are available for a withholding amount other than the default.
| Item | Figure | Where stated |
|---|---|---|
| Early withdrawal additional tax, federal | 10% | PERA refunds page and IRS Topic 558 |
| Age below which the additional tax applies | 59½ | PERA refunds page and IRS Topic 558 |
| Mandatory withholding, eligible rollover distribution paid to the member | generally 20% | IRS Topic 413 |
| Time from complete application to lump-sum payment | between 30 and 120 days | PERA refunds page |
| Computed additional tax on an assumed $10,000 taxable portion | computed $1,000 | Computed from the IRS 10% rate |
What the pages read do not state: the default withholding rate PERA applies to a refund, the interest rate credited to member contributions, whether a refund can be repaid after it is paid, and the number of years of service that counts as vested for the leave-it-with-PERA option.
Sources for this section:
- Minnesota Public Employees Retirement Association, www.mnpera.org benefit-options: https://www.mnpera.org/members/plan-retirement/benefit-options
- Minnesota Public Employees Retirement Association, www.mnpera.org refunds-rollovers: https://www.mnpera.org/job-changes/refunds-rollovers
- IRS, Topic no. 413, Rollovers from retirement plans (irs.gov): https://www.irs.gov/taxtopics/tc413
- IRS, Topic no. 558, Additional tax on early distributions from retirement plans other than IRAs (irs.gov): https://www.irs.gov/taxtopics/tc558
What could not be verified
REFUND TERMS: this page does not state what happens to your contributions if you take a refund instead of leaving your account with the system: that comparison was not independently researched for this system this session, and is left as an open gap rather than guessed from another system’s rule. Consult your own plan’s refund/forfeiture terms before deciding. Any additional field marked “not stated” in the verdicts table above was genuinely absent from the official materials read, not omitted for space.
Sources
Read September 3, 2026.
Related public pension systems: Minnesota TRA · Missouri PSRS.
General information drawn from each system’s own official published materials, not legal, tax or financial advice. Vesting, COLA and buyback rules are set by state statute and plan tier, differ materially by hire date, and can change by future legislation. This page cannot see your own member statement, which governs. We are not a law firm, a tax adviser, or a fiduciary, and this is not personalized advice.