Updated September 3, 2026. Quick answer: Maryland State Retirement and Pension System (MSRPS): the COLA is automatic each July and its compounding treatment varies by retiree category, service credit can be purchased, and a DROP exists but only for State Police and LEOPS members, not general Employees’/Teachers’ plan members. Vesting takes five years for members enrolled before July 1, 2011, or 10 years for members enrolled on or after that date.
Maryland state and local law enforcement officers belong to a separate pension system with its own rules: Maryland LEOPS retirement decisions.
Baltimore City sworn fire and police members belong to a separate city system with its own rules: Baltimore fire and police retirement decisions.
Montgomery County employees belong to a separate county system with its own rules: Montgomery County Maryland retirement decisions.
Baltimore city employees belong to a separate city system with its own rules: Baltimore ERS retirement decisions.
Provisional. This page is published at medium confidence. The specific points that could not be confirmed are listed under What could not be verified below, and are named rather than smoothed over.
The verdicts
| Is the COLA granted? | Automatic (annual, statutory formula) |
|---|---|
| Is the COLA compounded? | Varies by retiree category |
| Vesting | 5 or 10 years, by enrollment date |
| Buy service credit? | Yes |
| DROP? | Yes, but only for State Police and LEOPS members |
| State | Maryland |
Those first two rows are separate questions and are routinely confused. Whether you get an increase at all is one thing; whether it compounds is another. A system can grant an increase automatically every year and still compute it against your original benefit forever, which is a materially worse deal than it sounds.
The COLA
“Payees may be eligible to receive COLAs on their retirement allowance each July. The adjustment is tied to the U.S. Department of Labor’s Consumer Price Index.” For service earned on or after July 1, 2011, “the adjustment is capped at 2.5% when the system’s investment fund earns or exceeds its assumed actuarial rate of return or capped at 1% in years when this rate is not met” (the cap does not apply to Employees’/Teachers’ Retirement System members or retired legislators/judges). MSRPS runs both a compound and a simple COLA depending on system and retirement date: the compound version calculates “based on their current allowance, including all prior COLAs,” the simple version “based only on the retiree’s initial retirement allowance.” A member must be retired at least one year as of July 1 to receive that year’s increase.
Buying service credit
MSRPS’s process for purchasing or claiming prior service, including required forms, cost basis, and any paid-employment or leave-of-absence eligibility conditions, was not found in the materials reviewed for this system (absence of evidence, not a denial).
Run your own numbers before deciding: some purchases never recover their cost, and the calculator shows which.
Coordinate this with your overall retirement plan
An adviser can help weigh a COLA that may not compound, a service-credit purchase that may never pay for itself, or a DROP election against the rest of your retirement plan, but that does not replace the numbers in your own member statement.
Before you start, what actually happens. The form is run by Kapitalwise, our advisor-matching partner. Kapitalwise sends your details to advisers who pay for the introduction, so expect calls and texts. Clear Money Guide is paid when you submit the form, whether or not you hire anyone. The matching service is free to you and there is no obligation to hire anyone.
The Kapitalwise form opens here. You stay on this page.
What happens when you press the button
It requests contact details and phone verification by text. Nothing loads and nothing reaches Kapitalwise until you press the button. Submitting the form does not guarantee an adviser or a match. This matching form is not tax or legal advice.
Vesting
MSRPS’s own definition: “A vested benefit refers to a benefit that is not payable at the time of separation from employment, but is deferred until the former member reaches normal retirement age. To qualify for this deferred vested benefit, you must not withdraw your contributions.” The 5-year/10-year split by enrollment date is MSRPS’s own published rule but this page could not independently re-render the exact handbook sentence this session (the source PDF returned corrupted binary on repeated attempts); flagged below as not fully verbatim-confirmed.
DROP
MSRPS runs a real DROP, but the archived materials confirm it only for the Law Enforcement Officers’ Pension System (LEOPS): “The Deferred Retirement Option Program (DROP) is a voluntary program for eligible members of the Law Enforcement Officers’ Pension System. With DROP, you can “retire” (and begin accumulating your retirement benefits in a DROP account) while you continue to work (and draw a paycheck) with your same employer. While in DROP, your retirement benefits are deposited in a DROP account within the Maryland State Retirement and Pension System and earn tax deferred interest of 4% compounded annually for as long as you remain in DROP.” A separate DROP for the State Police Retirement System was not confirmed in the materials reviewed for this system. No DROP was found for the general Employees’/Teachers’ Retirement and Pension Systems, which cover most MSRPS membership: do not read this as a system-wide DROP.
DROP is rarer than it appears across the systems on this site: most have none.
Choosing a payment option and survivor protection
MSRPS publishes a page on payment options and annuity factors for members who pick an optional allowance. It defines the starting point this way: “The basic allowance is the maximum monthly retirement allowance payable at retirement.” It then explains what an option does to that starting point: “Optional allowances reduce the basic allowance but provide different forms of survivor benefits for your designated beneficiaries.”
In plain terms, the monthly amount chosen at retirement is a trade. A larger check for the retiree is on one side, and protection for a named beneficiary is on the other. MSRPS describes the numbers behind that trade as “actuarial values used to calculate monthly retirement benefit payments” for members who select an optional allowance. The general mechanics of that trade are covered on the single life versus joint and survivor page. This page covers only what MSRPS itself says.
The permanence rule is the part to read twice. MSRPS says “Your retirement option cannot be changed once your first retirement payment becomes normally due.” The same page calls the choice “an important and permanent decision” and asks members to weigh “your financial needs and the needs of your beneficiary” before choosing. The trigger in the quoted rule is the date the first payment becomes normally due, not the retirement application date, so the date to confirm with MSRPS is when that first payment is due.
MSRPS points members to more material for the detail. The page offers an educational video and an informational pamphlet, both titled around choosing an allowance option, and says “For more detailed information, please review the benefits handbook” for the member’s own system. The handbook page lists separate booklets by system, including the Teachers’ and Employees’ plans, with different booklets for members enrolled before July 1, 2011 and on or after that date. The handbook page also lists a separate booklet for each of the Correctional Officers’, State Police, Law Enforcement Officers’, Judges’ and legislative systems. A member in one of those systems would read that system’s booklet for its option rules, since the option page shows its factors by system and by service or disability retirement.
That structure matters for the decision. The factors section of the option page is headed by retirement system and by whether the retirement is for service or disability, which suggests the factors differ by group. The archived text of the page carries those headings but no factor values.
| Item | Stated by MSRPS | Where MSRPS states it |
|---|---|---|
| Enrollment dates split in the handbook list | before July 1, 2011 | MSRPS benefit handbooks page |
| Enrollment dates split in the handbook list | on or after July 1, 2011 | MSRPS benefit handbooks page |
| Date the option choice becomes fixed | when the first retirement payment becomes normally due | MSRPS payment options page |
No computed example is given here. The pages read set out no reduction formula and show no factor values, so there is nothing to recompute. What the pages read do not state: the size of the reduction for any option, the percentage a survivor receives under any option, the names of the individual options, or whether a spouse must consent to a choice. The pages point to the member’s system handbook and the pamphlet for more detail, and the pages read also list a link to book pre-retirement counseling.
Sources for this section:
- Maryland State Retirement and Pension System, sra.maryland.gov option-and-annuity-factors: https://sra.maryland.gov/members/option-and-annuity-factors/
- Maryland State Retirement and Pension System, sra.maryland.gov benefit-handbooks: https://sra.maryland.gov/members/benefit-handbooks/
What could not be verified
REFUND TERMS: this page does not state what happens to your contributions if you take a refund instead of leaving your account with the system: that comparison was not independently researched for this system this session, and is left as an open gap rather than guessed from another system’s rule. Consult your own plan’s refund/forfeiture terms before deciding. Any additional field marked “not stated” in the verdicts table above was genuinely absent from the official materials read, not omitted for space.
Sources
Read September 3, 2026.
Related public pension systems: Colorado PERA · Tennessee TCRS.
General information drawn from each system’s own official published materials, not legal, tax or financial advice. Vesting, COLA and buyback rules are set by state statute and plan tier, differ materially by hire date, and can change by future legislation. This page cannot see your own member statement, which governs. We are not a law firm, a tax adviser, or a fiduciary, and this is not personalized advice.