Updated September 3, 2026. Quick answer: Indiana Teachers’ Retirement Fund (TRF): the COLA is discretionary (the General Assembly must approve any increase), service credit can be purchased, and no DROP was found for TRF specifically. Vesting takes 10 years of TRF and/or PERF-covered service; the defined-contribution component vests immediately.
Provisional. This page is published at medium confidence. The specific points that could not be confirmed are listed under What could not be verified below, and are named rather than smoothed over.
The verdicts
| Is the COLA granted? | Discretionary (General Assembly must approve) |
|---|---|
| Is the COLA compounded? | Not stated |
| Vesting | 10 years of TRF/PERF-covered service |
| Buy service credit? | Yes |
| DROP? | None found for TRF specifically |
| State | Indiana |
Those first two rows are separate questions and are routinely confused. Whether you get an increase at all is one thing; whether it compounds is another. A system can grant an increase automatically every year and still compute it against your original benefit forever, which is a materially worse deal than it sounds.
The COLA
Shares PERF’s exact statutory mechanism: “Any Cost of Living Adjustments (COLAs) must first be approved by the Indiana General Assembly.” The same HEA 1004/1221 13th-check/1%-COLA prefunding structure named for PERF applies to TRF ’96 as well.
Buying service credit
TRF shares INPRS’s system-wide purchase mechanism: additional service purchase for fully vested Hybrid members, substitute-teaching service credit, and military service purchase, priced by INPRS’s actuary and payable by transfer, rollover, lump sum, or installments.
Run your own numbers before deciding: some purchases never recover their cost, and the calculator shows which.
Optional next step
Want help with this pension decision?
Ask an adviser how this choice fits your broader retirement income plan.
- No fee to request a match
- No obligation to hire
Expect questions about your situation, your name, email and phone, and phone verification by text. A match is not guaranteed.
The form is run by Kapitalwise, our advisor-matching partner. Kapitalwise sends your details to advisers who pay for the introduction, so expect calls and texts. Clear Money Guide is paid when you submit the form, whether or not you ever hire anyone. This is free to you and there is no obligation to hire anyone.
Opens here. Nothing loads and nothing reaches Kapitalwise until you press the button.
How our partner relationships workVesting
According to INPRS’s TRF at-a-glance sheet, the Defined Benefit component vests after 10 years of TRF and/or PERF-covered service, while the Defined Contribution component vests immediately.
DROP
Same finding as PERF: no TRF-specific DROP reference was found; INPRS’s DROP program appears tied to the ’77 Fund and the Excise, Gaming, and Conservation Officers’ Fund, not TRF.
DROP is rarer than it appears across the systems on this site: most have none.
What could not be verified
REFUND TERMS: this page does not state what happens to your contributions if you take a refund instead of leaving your account with the system: that comparison was not independently researched for this system this session, and is left as an open gap rather than guessed from another system’s rule. Consult your own plan’s refund/forfeiture terms before deciding. Any additional field marked “not stated” in the verdicts table above was genuinely absent from the official materials read, not omitted for space.
Sources
Read September 3, 2026.
Related public pension systems: Kentucky KTRS · Kentucky KERS.
General information drawn from each system’s own official published materials, not legal, tax or financial advice. Vesting, COLA and buyback rules are set by state statute and plan tier, differ materially by hire date, and can change by future legislation. This page cannot see your own member statement, which governs. We are not a law firm, a tax adviser, or a fiduciary, and this is not personalized advice.